What are you reading lately? Do you have a stack on your bedside table?

One of the most important things a leader can do is read to stay stimulated, keep a sharp mind and improve their leadership skills.  I know from my own experience that many times a business book will present material I’ve seen before, but it does so in a way that strikes a chord and makes a difference in my leadership or productivity now. That’s right – it makes sense now when it didn’t on previous encounters with the same information. Bingo – inspiration!

So here’s what I’m reading and why:

  • The Impact Equation by Chris Brogan and Julien Smith (release date 10/25/12 – if you haven’t already pre-ordered, I highly recommend it. I originally requested a preview copy so I could write a review, since I’m taking the Blog Topics Master Class with Chris Brogan. But what I’ve discovered is that there is so much information about getting your message out that I have highlights and post-its on practically every page and am having to read slowly to absorb it all! This will definitely be a book I revisit often.
  • How to Talk to Anyone, Anytime, Anywhere by Larry King – this was homework for Blog Topics Master Class, but has turned into a nice little read. Larry King has a delightfully casual style of writing, so it feels like we’re sitting down with a cup of coffee for a chat. I’m learning all sorts of ways to be a better conversationalist.
  • Love Works by Joel Manby – interviewed by Chris LoCurto for the EntreLeadership podcast, I cannot wait to dig into this material which promotes values like patience and empowerment in the workplace.
  • God’s Promises for You by Max Lucado – a friend lent me this tiny volume that is jam packed with scripture and commentary broken down into different topics like praise, trust and grace.

Your turn, what are you reading and why?